DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Dosbods painting with oils club

spunko

I've recently discovered Bob Ross, on YouTube. Considering myself to be a fairly good when it comes to drawing with pencils, I decided to give it a go. I've never used oil paints before - and it's not easy. 

Anyone else an avid or aspiring painter? 

Here's my first effort, I'm quite pleased with the sky, and can see if I painted it again it'd be significantly better. Don't laugh. I'm not going to throw it out, even though I'm tempted,  to give me something to look back on. 

Carefully positioned paint tube to cover my name, just in case....

15639137824467672295181144811436.jpg

3 hours ago, Long time lurking said:

Bob Ross a name from the past he used to be on the discovery channel in the 1990`s early 2000s is still alive ?

No he died quite young in his fifties, in 1995.

Long time lurking
45 minutes ago, spunko said:

No he died quite young in his fifties, in 1995.

Well he was dead when i was watching his show ,makes it look so easy Tony Hart on steroids 

On 23/07/2019 at 21:31, spunko said:

I've recently discovered Bob Ross, on YouTube. Considering myself to be a fairly good when it comes to drawing with pencils, I decided to give it a go. I've never used oil paints before - and it's not easy. 

Here's my first effort, I'm quite pleased with the sky, and can see if I painted it again it'd be significantly better. Don't laugh. I'm not going to throw it out, even though I'm tempted,  to give me something to look back on. 

Recently started taking drawing lessons with a  view to learning to paint but I think it's going tobe a while before there's any output worth seeing.

Well done on your painting.