• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Malthus

Lucky we have a magic money tree

That article is terrible reporting.

£320k sounds like a lot, but I've no experience of that sector so I've no idea what it means.

I do know that when costs like this are banded about it is always the total cost of running the service divided by use, rather than an incremental cost per user.  So, if it was written as 'the juvenile justice and prison service would cost £15m pa, even with no offenders -- that is, the cost of the building, base staffing, etc.  On top of that, each offender has specific costs of £30k -- food, additional staff members, outsourcing rehabilitation services.  We don't like spending it but you've got to do something'   (or something).

But the main weakness in this sort of reporting is the isolated figures, so I'd most interested in:

• What is the offending rate compared with other countries?  Include some examples of best-practice and where is has all gone wrong.  Is NI good or awful?  Stats for RoI (especially border areas) would be particularly interesting.
  • How much do other countries manage to get away with spending?  (per offender, per seriousness).  Include scale effects -- might it be cheaper for England because fixed costs are divided by a larger cohort, say.
  • What are 'normal' rehabilitation rates?  Give some examples of countries that have managed to bring them down.  What is the normal 'worst case' and is NI close to it?
  • What about other strategies?  Might different approaches be cheaper or more effective?  Okay, some talk of this in the article but of the useless 'something must be done' variety -- all to easy to say this, much more difficult to discuss how to do the doing part.