• Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Sasquatch

Metal detecting

Bit bored this morning so was having a peruse through the portable antiquities site. I think there are a few self confessed detectorists on dosbods so thought a specific thread might be of interest.

I've been detecting on and off for the last 7 or 8 years. Excellent mindfulness IMHO. Gets you out into the fresh air, a bit of exercise and the slight chance that you might actually dig up something interesting. For example a friend of mine found five gold celtic staters last year. Was I jealous? Oh yes!

Anyway, link below to one of my finds. It's an early Roman umbonate enamel bronze brooch. A really nice one and something relatively rare.

https://finds.org.uk/database/artefacts/record/id/878033

Not just metal objects as well. If you keep your eyes peeled, other items can be found. I've got a piece of a tile from a roman hypocaust floor and often find flint tools. Link below is for a neolithic flint knife tool I found last year. Approx 4000 to 2500 BC. Just lying there on top of the ploughed soil.

https://finds.org.uk/database/artefacts/record/id/983436

My dad used to do it but he was never very forthcoming about the details. I quite fancy it - can you just buy some gear and off you go or is there licenses and stuff?

3 minutes ago, Funn3r said:

My dad used to do it but he was never very forthcoming about the details. I quite fancy it - can you just buy some gear and off you go or is there licenses and stuff?

Only trespassing. So get permission first. If you find half of Saxon England, the Crown, or the landowner may have some rights on it, but not if it's a coke can, and a horse shoe. It's yours.