DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

BP PLC - why all the hate?

No One

I saw that BP went back down yesterday to it's March 14th level. 

Bought another 500 quids worth.

Why where the people on the reflation-to-come thread bashing it?

• Agree 1
No One

@Democorruptcy how do you analyse these documents? 

I'm a bit new to shares and trading so I'm trying to learn.

This week with the whole wallstreetbets debacle I learnt what the limit Buy on Trading 212 does and started using it.

1 minute ago, Democorruptcy said:

In HL's BP research update after the results yesterday they said break even is $42 a barrel but they were aiming for a "cash balancing point towards $35". I couldn't find that on BP's own docs

Edited by No One
Democorruptcy
5 minutes ago, No One said:

@Democorruptcy how do you analyse these documents?

I don't over analyse documents. I just look to see if the premise seems reasonable. BP paid down debt and are going to pay me a dividend. Job done.

These trading updates etc are just a moment in time and you have to look at the bigger picture. In horse racing I used to think "form is temporary but class is permanent".

• Informative 1
Loki

@No One The best thing I ever read about oil companies was that you're being paid to absorb volatility.  I can't remember what the document was called now.

I too bought £500 more on the 1st, so I'm absorbing more than you, if it helps :D

I don't know why the thread has taken that turn, but I like the way it centres around the main theme with tangents, so I don't mind.

Edited by Loki
  • Agree 1
  • Informative 1
wherebee