• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
man o' the year

Bereavement

I am finding it pretty difficult to cope with having landed back in UK to find my father had passed away earlier that morning. That and jet lag keeping me awake.

It is strange how despite the extended time period ( you may recall I have been in this strange no man's land of looking after Mum with Dad in care for virtually 2 years now) and his advanced age (nearly 94) , the situation of returning to never see him again is very diificult. I know it is still fresh (yesterday) but I am finding it difficult reconcile. I feel I have let him down. I really wanted to be there when it happened. To comfort him. I am an only one. Will be driving up (to Notts) today to take Mum out of respite but am back in Somerset from 3rd to 14th so funeral will be after that. I have no experience of this sort of thing. Mum with dementia at the funeral doesnt feel like a good mix either.

Just wish I had chance to say goodbye properly. As it was it was a rushed affair and emotionless.

Edited by man o' the year
spelling

I'm sorry for your loss. You've not let anyone down. I've a little understanding of how you feel. I missed my Mother's passing, by being out of the country. Then had to get my Father to the funeral, who was terminally ill at the time. He passed away two months later. Condolences. Stay strong for your Mother. 

My condolences, I can't imagine what you're going though, but you definitely haven't let anyone down.