DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

What's the craic regarding buying digital copies of videos from Amazon...?

The XYY Man
Go to solution Solved by DTMark,

Question

The XYY Man

I have some DVDs of a TV series that was shot in HD, but was only ever released in Standard Definition on DVD.

But I can now buy all the episodes in HD from Amazon, but not a physical copy. Being a bit of a Luddite, I have never done this before and have some questions I hope someone can answer for me.

1) Once I download my copies, are they mine for ever - even if I were to leave Amazon...?

2) Are they encrypted and only playable on certain devices...?

3) Can I make back-up copies...?

4) Ideally I'd like to build some menus, and burn them to a blank Blu-ray disc. I assume Amazon will not like me doing this, but is it possible...?

I am not particularly bothered if I need to use dodgy software to decrypt any digital rights management shite, is there something out there that can handle this...?

XYY

9 answers to this question

• Solution
DTMark

Are you looking at something like this? All it means is that you can watch it now, and again in the future without paying again. It does not mean you get to keep a copy.

But, yes, you can stream it on your PC and potentially make a copy of it. Bear in mind that the definition it streams at will be related to your internet connection so if that were to drop speed during the streaming, you'll get all or some portion of it at lower quality.

There may (I haven't checked) be sites which provide utilities to grab your own copies of stuff from Amazon.

amazon.jpg.943179185a1c81aa628502ed924ec840.jpg

DTMark