DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Investing 101 for beginners. Advice please

One percent

One percent

I’ve a house mortgage free and around 250k in cash, sat in the ns&i for protection purposes (I don’t think government is going bankrupt soon and if it does, the cash will be least of my worries). 

im not looking for growth at my age but want to protect from the worst of inflation and ideally get an income. @Frank Hovis suggested trackers but suggested i ask further for the best provider. 

any advice greatly appreciated. 

23rdian
Posted (edited)

I'm relatively new to the game too but these are my feelings at the moment...

I am currently investing in both individual shares and low cost trackers. E.g. Vanguard . The trackers are safer (you are less exposed to a particular company going bankrupt which has happened to me before) but the rewards can also be a bit more muted.

I would always look for some sort of dividend or yield from either. For me its currently 3pc or greater that's important. Also at the moment inflation "proof" stocks may be a wise thing.

This is for the bulk of my funds. Although I do have some side bets on risky stuff such as penny shares and crypto but this to me is just gambling so expect losses if you do this too.

I am looking to cover all my day to day expenses from my investments. You shouldn't have a problem doing this too with the right buys if you wanted.

Edited by 23rdian
  • Agree 2
  • Informative 1
  • Cheers 1

23rdian
Posted (edited)