DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Fitness for complete beginners

DTMark

I work from home and sit in front of a computer all day.

My partner bought me one of those Fitbit things which, after a few days, announced that it had identified my fitness programme.

I'd gone downstairs to make coffee.

On an average day I probably don't move any more than about 30 metres.

I'm getting on in years now. I've put on a little bit of weight, but that would fall away if I stopped drinking beer, which is the primary culprit, the secondary one being the complete lack of exercise.

We live in a city now. There is a decent size park about 500m from here, so I could walk there and round the park every day.

I haven't run anywhere in a very long time.

My objective is not to build muscle or to imagine I can have the body of an 18 year old again. Just to be a bit fitter than I am so that my digestive system works a bit better and my energy levels are more consistent.

Does anyone have any links to some kind of complete beginner starter plan?

• Agree 2

JoeDavola

First thing is to walk. Important thing is to walk every day even if it's only for 15 minutes.

Don't bother with jogging and all that shite right now it's not worth it you'll injure yourself.

You should aim to walk 45 mins a day at a relatively brisk pace, even if it takes a while to work your way up to that, as that's the sweet spot where the most health benefits are seen. As you get fitter you will be able to walk faster and cover more ground in that 45 minutes - some sort of tracking app like Strava on your phone might be of help to help 'gameify' it as such; to let you see that your distance is changing over time.