DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Paint chip repairs

Loki

Noticed a couple of chips that are just starting to rust.  I know of those Smart repair type companies, are they any good for dealing with corrosion or are they cosmetic only?

Is there a middle ground between panel respray and paint touch-up?

I have zero knowledge or enthusiasm for paint, I stick to the oily bits.  

1 hour ago, Carl Fimble said:

Not the Hilux I hope...

:o

Yeah, they're not that bad at all right now, I just want to sort it before the salt goes down

Carl Fimble
25 minutes ago, Loki said:

Yeah, they're not that bad at all right now, I just want to sort it before the salt goes down

It's white if I remember correctly, what about using some Tippex as a temporary solution?

O.o

Carl Fimble

Only joking obviously, I'm no expert in any way but I'd think some sort of rust treatment, then primer, then a wee bit of touch up paint?

Is it on the front end? If so maybe one of those bonnet bras might offer some protection once the little chipped bits have been dealt with?

2 minutes ago, Carl Fimble said:

It's white if I remember correctly, what about using some Tippex as a temporary solution?

O.o

Silver! 

Just now, Carl Fimble said:

Only joking obviously, I'm no expert in any way but I'd think some sort of rust treatment, then primer, then a wee bit of touch up paint?

Is it on the front end? If so maybe one of those bonnet bras might offer some protection once the little chipped bits have been dealt with?

I've found a guy with good Google reviews so that's about it really.  I was just asking as I have seen some crappy Smart repairs.  I don't touch paint, I would fuck it up xD

Carl Fimble