• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Great Guy

Safety Razors

Anyone here use a safety razor? I've been using one for 6 months and love it. I love using a tool that's identical to one made a century ago. I love the noise when you are cutting your stubble. I also love using blades that involve little packaging and little profit for the likes of Gillete with their 6 bladed "best ever" razors.

Here are two of my razors :) 

A Feather and an Executive Braveheart :)

image.jpg

I have a cheap one I bought in Boots and once my stock of Lidl razors runs out (about three years!) I will be seeing how I get on with it before pushing the boat out and getting one of those.  Which do look incredibly cool.

19 minutes ago, Great Guy said:

Anyone here use a safety razor? I've been using one for 6 months and love it. I love using a tool that's identical to one made a century ago. I love the noise when you are cutting your stubble. I also love using blades that involve little packaging and little profit for the likes of Gillete with their 6 bladed "best ever" razors.

Here are two of my razors :) 

A Feather and an Executive Braveheart :)

image.jpg

I think they're very cool.  Like you I also love the fact they have been around for years unchanged, are economical and well, just work.  I've had a beard for the last 15 years or so but if I ever do start shaving properly again I'll be buying one.

Chaps, if you fancy buying one try an Edwin Jagger DE89. It's about £30. You can buy 200 decent blades for £25. So that's a couple of years shaving for £55.

Environmentally they are brilliant. Each razor is a slither of steel which you can put in your recycling (after putting them in a steel can and flattening it).

I started using them because I was getting annoyed with the new razors being brought out every 6 months.