DOSBODS
  • Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Open moorland walking technique

Fully Detached

Fully Detached

I'm sure people here have the skills and experience to help me with this, I am buggered if I can find anything useful online.

Wife and I went out onto the Brecons last Saturday to look for one of the crashed WW2 bomber sites. Because aircraft rarely have the decency to crash right next to a footpath, that means at some point you have to leave the footpath and head off across open moorland. My problem is that I have no experience or skills in walking this kind of terrain, so within 50 metres I'd already nearly broken a leg by stepping into a hidden ditch. I managed to make slow progress after that just by treading far more carefully and really studying the ground in front of me, although I still had a couple more incidents where I could have sprained an ankle.

Wife, however, turns out to have some sort of phobia about soft ground, so any time she puts a foot on something and feels herself sinking, she practically shits herself. End result was we spent far too long covering a tiny amount of ground, and I ended up deviating from my chosen bearing to try to pacify her with what looked like easier terrain to cross. Unsuccessfully, I might add. I believe divorce was mentioned more than 50 times.