• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Great Guy

reducing tax for self employed

There seem to be a fair amount of self employed here. I thought it might be an idea to swap tax tips?

I'm by no means a tax expert but here are some things that you could consider:

1. Pay yourself a minimal wage and a large dividend (ok, I know we all know this).

2. Pay wife/ mistress a wage & dividends (yeah, I'm really the font of all tax wisdom).

3. Contribute to pension directly from company to avoid corporation tax ( I only found out about this a few months back...)

4. A lot of hotels have loyalty schemes where you can pay extra to get extra points. Maybe when you're away on business pay for extra points (tax deductible) then use them for holiday accommodation?

As I said, I'm no tax accountant. Feel free to rip my ideas to shreds or add fresh ideas.

Check out the Flat Rate VAT scheme, whereby you may be able to charge customers 20% VAT but only pay HMRC 10%-12% (depends on sector). Doesn't work if you're just a service business any more after this year's changes but if your goods purchases are over 2% of sales it might be worth doing. Downside is you can't reclaim VAT on purchases so there's a sweet spot where this makes sense.

Technically you're not supposed to do the 'collect points / cashbacks' -- they'd all be a taxable benefit.  (Of course, you might decide that hmrc wouldn't find out, but it is tax evasion rather than avoidance).