• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

JoeDavola

Joe Davola's 'Career' - Question for Contracting Bods

I generally enjoy my job but there's times when I get frustrated at the dead-end aspect of it and recent changes in management mean that things are becoming more annoying, with an increasing chain of people taking credit for my work to help justify their own jobs; when I'm the lowest paid out of the lot of 'em. It's starting to grate on me.

So whilst I won't be leaving soon, I'm looking to slowly maneuver myself into a position where I'd be a strong candidate to pick up a bit of contract work. I have over 5 years experience in a reasonably niche area, in some cases having to fix and rework projects that expensive contractors had fucked up, so I'd be going in with real world experience, but I'm wondering what else I can do to supplement this, I had been thinking:

- Go over old projects and use them to write up a CV of sorts

- Certification exams - generally I'm skeptical about certifications if they're not backed up by experience, but since this is a niche and I've got the experience to back it up, I think getting the exams might be worthwhile.

- Writing Blog Posts / a Book - yes, a book. There's really only two books out there on the thing that I'm an expert in, and neither of them go into the detail that I've used it. I could write a book and self-publish on the Kindle store, one that takes a problem/solution approach that's more advanced than the books that are currently out there. I'm quite good at explaining technical things and summarizing technical ideas and would like the challenge of writing even a short book - and I'm assuming having my name against a book would raise my profile somewhat?

What do you reckon, would any of this make any difference whatsoever when it came to tapping in to a potentially very lucrative contracting market?