• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Frank Hovis

A genuinely good idea - give homeless people a postal address

This is so good that I'm surprised it hasn't bene done before.  It's not easy but what this guy, Chris Hildrey, an architect by profession, is working towards is a system whereby each homeless person can have a proper postal address which will make receieving benefits and getting a job so much easier for a tiny cost.

I, like most people, have always linked an address with living there but this delinks those two concepts so that you can be street homeless but still have a postal address to access the services that will allow you to get off the street.   I did like the thought of using the number 13 because of all the streets that don't have a so-numbered house.  Good old 12a.

It's existed in other forms - BFPO and Poste Restante - but this is IMO taking it to another level.

It may also help people who aren't "traditionally" homeless.  I knew somebody who, through choice, lived on a yacht in a boat yard and every year or two sailed to a new one.  He said there was quite a crowd doing this mainly single men  He had perfectly routine temporary office jobs.  He however had no address, I think he used a family member's for permament stuff, and when he tried couldn't be registered to vote.

He looks to have a way to go yet but he is being very practical with this.  Well done sir!

https://www.wired.co.uk/article/proxy-address-design-museum-homelessness

They don't care about the homeless. They care about the Ponzi. To help the homeless they would have to clear out a few of their slave labour force and vacate a few houses. Also, the issue with the homeless isn't so much with houses - they are easy - but with human stuff - depression, drug abuse, PTSD that kind of thing. No-one wants to deal with that.