• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Great Guy

Come back knockoutjohhny!

I'm half thinking of getting a vintage Rolex. Does anyone know how accurate/ reliable they are? I think knockoutjohhny would know but he seems to have buggered off :(

I'm thinking of something like this, a 1958 Rolex Oyster. If it was going to be reasonably accurate I would get one. However I bought a fancy Atmos clock from the same era and it's rubbish....

I have to admit I prefer the understated style of this Rolex compared to the "look at me everyone, I've got a Rolex and I'm a car salesman" style of the modern Rolex.

image.png

I always had a bit of a thing for the Wavemaster (like the Submariner but a bit less in your face without the cyclops eye), but I worked with a bloke once who owned one, and he said it was the worst watch he ever had. Constantly gaining or losing time and returned from multiple services / repairs in no better state than it went in. The bloke was a bit of a bullshitter so I didn't really know what to make of it, but it put me off shelling out the several grand I'd have to have spent to own one.

By contrast my kinetic Seiko cost me £170 over 10 years ago and it doesn't miss a second. Bloody thing is incredible.

Mechanical watches aren't that accurate. Still that's not the point. If they are marked as "chronometer" they have passed certain tests at the factory, to be certified. Not sure when this came in. A modern Rolex usually is certified as a "chronometer", but if you actually used it as one, for navigation you would miss the British Virgin Isles by miles, and all the British Virgins.:o

I've always fancied a Breitling. I'm never going to spend that much on a watch though! 

There are sites offering fake ones. Are these sites just a scam? As in, you pay the money and just never get the watch?