• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Wight Flight

Commonwealth. Good or evil?

10 minutes ago, Cunning Plan said:

I happen to think it could become very important in the future. 

Does anyone know if there are any commonwealth countries that follow Islamic law?

Pakistan and Nigeria at least in part. Probably Bangladesh & Malaysia too.

1 minute ago, TheBlueCat said:

Yes, you are right on Pakistan. Is that a legacy from the split, and are they likely to remain members?

1 hour ago, Cunning Plan said:

Yes, you are right on Pakistan. Is that a legacy from the split, and are they likely to remain members?

Likely yes to both - I'm no expert though. From what I recall, the partition of India was driven primarily by religious hatred between Hindus and Muslims. Actually, on the second point, I've just remembered that they got suspended from the Commonwealth once so, if they go full blown theocracy at some point, as well as having nukes and being in a position to bring about the end of days, they might also get chucked out again (not that it will matter much).

The reason I bring this up is the msm seem hell bent on destroying any kind of goodwill towards the commonwealth. Nigel covered it on LBC this morning and for once I actually felt uplifted and hopeful.

Is this meme because a successful commonwealth is a foil to the Brexit argument or some other reason?

There are rumours of the formation of an Islamic commonwealth. That doesn't sound like it would be good for the rest of us.

The other thing I am not getting is the hatred being levied at Charles becoming head. He is probably the least worst option as the one thing we can say about him is that there is no way he can be corrupted, which must be a good thing for what is currently a powerless figurehead position.