• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Battenberg

Anyone had or built a site with Shopify or Woocommerce?

Posted (edited)

As others have said, what are you trying to do? Woocommerce is highly thought of; I have no experience of Shopify.

Also take a look at:

• Shopperpress. I've used that previously and found it reasonable, and it will import data feeds from affiliate sites and auto-populate the site.
  • I think it was also osCommerce I used for a small number of actual products sold using Paypal. Worked really well as I'd just get an email saying I'd received payment for an order, and to post so-and-so to this address. Should have scaled that one up really as I was selling a $0.60 USD product for £15. For the amount of effort I had to put in, it worked out about £300 an hour. [EDIT: wouldn't do it now as the product was questionably (but definitely) legal]
Edited by Inoperational Bumblebee

Just now, DTMark said:

Magento is probably the best-known one.

Yes, but they closed down the small business version (magento go) a couple of years ago.

If you can afford to employ a developer (and have the skills to work with them) then it is a good solution. 

However, most people with a bit of savvy should be able to get a shopify site up and running in a few days. And from experience I like the ability to have it in my own total control.

14 minutes ago, Cunning Plan said:

Yes, but they closed down the small business version (magento go) a couple of years ago.

If you can afford to employ a developer (and have the skills to work with them) then it is a good solution. 

However, most people with a bit of savvy should be able to get a shopify site up and running in a few days. And from experience I like the ability to have it in my own total control.