• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

DTMark

Spanish to be most widely-taught language

Spanish heads to top of class as pupils fall out of love with French

(paywall)

As thread title - Spanish to be the most widely-taught foreign language in British schools.

We all learned French at school. Also: briefly - German.

I reckon most of us can remember phrases like "Voulez-vouz dormir avec moi ce soir?" (that's probably vaguely right) and a few other bits and pieces, and if I watch French TV I'm surprised by how much French I still know but I have had almost no occasion to use any of it.

And after learning it for - what, three years, three times a week for an hour and a half, or similar, I don't remember studying tense (so I could say "I study French at school" but not "I studied French at school") which means that conversation is never going to progress beyond the basics.

This is parodied nicely in The Tunnel, a series with the British and French police working together, when the British guy, in one scene, suddenly manages to recall some perfect French and can't resist blurting it out: "ou e le chien?" despite not being able to converse usefully in French.

Hilariously, Juncker said that English is losing its importance as a foreign language. Not quite.

Even though France might well be geographically closest, so I see the logic, it is surely time to teach something else and Spanish seems ideal.

French may be the language of love but it seems it is falling out of favour in the British classroom.

It is on the verge of being supplanted by Spanish as the modern foreign language most commonly taught in schools, according to a British Council report. It said that, on current trends, Spanish would be the most popular modern-language A level by 2020 and GCSE by 2025.

Good.

To make the effrt to learn a langguage, there must be some sort of reward.