• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Napoleon Dynamite

Refusing Promotion at Work (or not)

TLDR: Have any of you refused or avoided taking a promotion at work?  If so, for what reasons and how did it work out?

I'm a developer, I've worked on a project as a lead developer. I'm now doing it again by default.  The official job role and a bump in salary is being advertised.  I've been prompted to apply for it.

I'm happy in current my role.  The lead role has brought me into contact with people I'd rather not have anything to do with.  Abrasive project mangagers, higher ups and other departments.  It's more pressure, conflict, hassle and having to deal with people I don't like.

Some terms on the 'Its mens fault' thread hit home, "spreadsheet botherer at Shitcorp Inc", "a bitter woman with some kind of axe to grind",  pushy Indians etc.  

That said I can do it (well I have done) and it's getting easier.  I'm coping better with the stress/pressure the more I do it.

Role is more money, say £5K (10% bump).  I don't need the money, would put it straight into the pension for tax efficiency reasons.  I'm 41 with wife & kids.

So what's the DOSBODS consensus?

1) Politely decline.  Leave things as they are, if I don't need the money, it's not worth the extra hassle

2) Go for it.  Man up, push myself, maintain frame and improve.  Learn how to deal with all the new stuff, it's only words and opinions.

17 minutes ago, Napoleon Dynamite said:

TLDR: Have any of you refused or avoided taking a promotion at work?  If so, for what reasons and how did it work out?

I'm a developer, I've worked on a project as a lead developer. I'm now doing it again by default.  The official job role and a bump in salary is being advertised.  I've been prompted to apply for it.