• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Virgil Caine

Get Rich Or Die Young

Amazingly I am actually watching the So-Called BBC tonight because Panorama is discussing life expectancy in the UK a topic I have been studying for a few years now. Being the So-Called BBC needless to say they are coming at the issue on their usual hobby horses about inequality,  poverty and  public spending etc. I think that oversimplifies the issue greatly. However, the topic does merit some hard questions because the statistics show that year on year life expectancy improved in the UK from the 1880s to the middle of the first decade of the 21st century before it came to a shuddering halt and now seems to be in decline. To put that in perspective the statistics show that despite the slaughter of the Great War, the 1930s Depression and the Second World War the the average Briton of each generation in the 20th century could expect to live longer than their parents. While now in the 21at century during a time of relative peace that is no longer the case. That increase in life expectancy in the 20th century happened under governments of all political persuasions and grew as quickly under pre war and pre welfare state Tory governments as it it did the post war Labour government so I don't think this is simply a political issue . Clearly something pretty major has broken in  British society  

Edited by Virgil Caine

2 minutes ago, Virgil Caine said: