• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Mere mortal

Total Novice needs some advice

Hi,

I've had a read of some of the posts and threads about investing in stocks etc.

I'm a total novice and so not much of it makes any sense to me ! I don't hold one stock or share to my name.

I've recently come into some cash, was looking to buy a house having moved back to UK from Oz but little nervous re buying right now so feel like taking a punt on the stock market !

As I'm a nervous newbie I'm reluctant to invest too much......

Can you invest as little as say £2000 and expect to see a return ? Are there companies that i can say ok here's some money invest on my behalf ? 

I don't have a Scooby Doo so any help or advice most gratefully appreciated !

If you're really not interested but want it to do ok, be safe and avoid charges then I have directed people in RL towards these six Hargreaves Lansdown managed funds previously; make sure you do it in an ISA so you don't get taxed on the income.

https://www.hl.co.uk/funds/leave-it-to-an-expert

There may be better managers than HL but I've been with them twenty years and they are easy to deal with and have low charges so I haven't considered moving.

Another happy HL customer here. 

Factoring in the cost of buying and selling, £2k is about the minimum to consider investing in share and as I wouldn't recommend putting all your eggs in one basket Frank Hovis managed funds suggestion makes sense until you have gained sufficient funds (and knowledge) to build your own diversified portfolio. 

The other caveat I would throw in is that at the moment the stock markets are looking rather high, click on the link for the FTSE 100 graph and take the five year option.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/topics/c9qdqqkgz27t/ftse-100