• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Great Guy

Professional Wrestling

I really enjoyed 'Attitude'-era WWF when I was a kid - late 90's kinda time. I watch some of the old stuff on YouTube sometimes, and some late 80's early 90's stuff; Ultimate Warrior Hulk Hogan Macho Man ect...

They're great showmen and athletes that's for sure, even if it isn't 'real'. Lots if not most of the ones from my childhood died young from steroid use.

Posted (edited)

Used to watch it regularly on the old World of Sport back in the 1970s when I was a student. A great sport for old men as some of the pro wrestlers were knocking 50 even then. I actually met the late Mick McManus through my job. The man was a proper gent and absolutely nothing like his image as a wrestling 'heel'. He collected  Meissen porcelain on which he was something of an expert. Obviously pro wrestling is as choreographed as ballet but then the participants normally dont end up as brain damaged like boxers . In fact the link with dance can be seen in a few wrestlers CVs like the late black wrestler Johnny Kwango (real name John Lagey) who performed with the Ballet Negre. Incidentally, Lagey who was born in Peckham in the 1920s gives the lie to the myth that all black people in England turned up on the Windrush.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnny_Kwango

Edited by Virgil Caine

It's great.  Though I have only distant memories of Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks.

It would have been tears before bedtime if Big Daddy ever list and the promoters knew it.

I'm sure if I was a kid then I would have hugely enjoyed the American showbiz version with dressing up, lights, music and special effects.