• Welcome to DOSBODS

Please consider creating a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

spunko

Simple acoustic songs + singing

As I think I've mentioned here previously I'm very new to acoustic guitar (maybe 50 hours practice?) - so still at a very basic level. If anyone can recommend simple folky songs to learn along with learning the lyrics, or do you all just play guitar and never sing? Most of the videos I've watched on YouTube of guitar tutorials it's clear they cannot sing and admit as much, which is fine, but I love to sing along.

I've so far learned to play & sign to Tracy Chapman - Fast Car and Don Mclean - American Pie (easy version) so can handle easy chords with practice. But part of the fun is also singing along and I'm low on ideas of songs to try next. Anyone got any recommendations?

I used to be able to play Closer to the Hear by Rush on acoustic.  I was dead pleased when I mastered the tricky intro.  The guitar must see the light of day again some time as it's been in that case for ?fifteen years.

4 hours ago, spunko said:

As I think I've mentioned here previously I'm very new to acoustic guitar (maybe 50 hours practice?) - so still at a very basic level. If anyone can recommend simple folky songs to learn along with learning the lyrics, or do you all just play guitar and never sing? Most of the videos I've watched on YouTube of guitar tutorials it's clear they cannot sing and admit as much, which is fine, but I love to sing along.

I've so far learned to play & sign to Tracy Chapman - Fast Car and Don Mclean - American Pie (easy version) so can handle easy chords with practice. But part of the fun is also singing along and I'm low on ideas of songs to try next. Anyone got any recommendations?