• Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Horrified Onlooker

Veterans UK

I am a veteran, and I suspect that I’m not the only one that posts here regularly. 

This isn’t a survey of who did/didn’t serve. But there is a certain difference in the way that vets are portrayed in the MSM. 

Everyone (almost) loves the Chelsea Pensioners and the vets marching past the Cenotaph in November. However when the same vets in the same berets & jackets are on a platform with TR, they are right wing extremists according to the MSM.

When a bunch of bikers with service/British Legion flashes walk into your pub/cafe how do you feel? Are they salt of the earth former servants of the state, or are they reactionary forces of middle England?

Not served, but I have great respect for our armed forces and try to support them when I can. I was in the army cadets as a teenager, got to meet a lot of soldiers during those years, some fantastic memories which have influenced my character for life.

Salt of the earth to my mind.

I am biased though because as a kid I desperately wanted to join the services but big bang (share trading deregulation) happened in the City when I was at college meaning it really took off and it became the place I wanted to be working so went there instead.

As I wanted to join but didn't I am mildly envious of anyone who did serve.

Though I did have a concern about having to start a new career from scratch in my forties.

4 minutes ago, Frank Hovis said:

Salt of the earth to my mind.