• Welcome to DOSBODS

DOSBODS is free of any advertising.

Ads are annoying, and - increasingly - advertising companies limit free speech online. DOSBODS Forums are completely free to use. Please create a free account to be able to access all the features of the DOSBODS community. It only takes 20 seconds!

Sign in to follow this  
Great Guy

LED bulbs

I bought a LED bulb for my bedside light for £3.50. Being an engineer I find the reduction in energy use as staggering... The previous bulb was 40W and the LED bulb is 4W.... If I ran the 40W bulb for a week it would cost £1.14 in electricity. The LED one would cost 11 pence...

I reckon the new bulb will pay for itself in 6 months...

image.jpeg

Sometimes technology gets something right. These I think are good. The small compact flourescent tubes were not that good, and I bet you can't buy them now.

1 minute ago, Alex said:

Less so in winter, perhaps? The remaining £1.03 was heating your room.

Yes, and I have used a filament lamp as a heat source in a cold climate. The 60 watts or so (mainly heat) means the equipment will reboot again after a power off.

1 minute ago, SillyBilly said:

Yeah until it blows out after a week. Had quite a few of these LED bulbs (some quite expensive as well) advertising long lives...and then blows out.

Same here, although I assume it's only the cheap ones. I love the idea and have been waiting for these since I bought my first blue LED for £25 in the eighties (I think), but the implementation is often poor, resulting in flickering at mains frequency that's visible to some people (including me), which incandescents mask. And the colour temperature seems hard to get right.

I don't like the strobe flicker some of them give off, as my raving days at long over (is there a way to know which do and which don't before you buy?!) and some of them give off a high-pitch sound which can also be annoying. Apart from that, awesome.

1 minute ago, Alex said: